Posted by: fromonthehill | February 28, 2014

Brimham Rocks Flip Top Mitts

I am just one pattern away from ‘publishing’ my first ebook of knitting patterns on Ravelry as ‘Brimham Rocks Flip Top Mitts’ is ready to go. They are completely unsuited to the winter that we have had in Britain so far, as they are really warm, toasty warm infact, but not waterproof! They are not my usual fingerless mitts as such….. well they are but they have a flip top as well. Ideal for a smart phone addict such as myself! I have yet to upload it to Ravelry but I thought I would mention it here first! It will be available on my design page here. EDIT…. Published! Let it snow!!!!

Image

They are knitted in DK yarn but knitted on 2.5mm needles, in the round. I have found that mitts knitted on more ‘standard’ size needles recommended for DK or aran/worsted weight yarn tend to allow the wind to whistle through! No chance of that happening here. The ‘millstone grit’ rib pattern means that the fabric still has some depth & bounce. I also knit thicker socks using DK yarn, 2.5mm needles & a basic fingering weight pattern construction which works really well. Traveller’s Socks can be knit either in fingering weight or DK sock yarn. Mr J & the son & heir have plenty of pairs of both weight socks! Image

Leave a Reply

Categories

