Posted by: fromonthehill | September 5, 2010

24 hour pass?

Back at school for three days in glorious weather! We decided that a little 24 hour break in ‘brian” camper was called for & so set off for Barnard Castle Caravan Club site after work on Friday. It’s only an hour north of home & so was just right for a quick escape! We arrived in lovely late sunshine & quickly had legs down, dinner on & wine open! Both (all three- Moss came too of course) slept like logs, no three o’clock insomnia all too common in our line of work & awoke to sunshine. The site is a pleasant stroll away from the Market town of Barnard Castle. It’s a brand new site & to be highly recommended. We wandered into town, found a farmers market and bought Northumberland nettle cheese, a ‘barney bag’, pork pies & bread for lunch & some chunky bacon chops! A stroll down to the river past many antique shops and restored mill buildings was topped off by finding a nice wee yarn shop! Buttons & something. I didn’t buy anything but she had a good range of yarn. If I had forgotten my knitting I could have found plenty to make me happy! We then spent the rest of the day travelling through Swaledale and Wensleydale before making home & Nidderdale. Batteries officially charged! The photo of Moss is in Jervaux Abbey.

I have just made a 12 point work related ‘to do list’ without out & out panic!!! Onwards & upwards!

…. and I have finished one sock! Lace pattern abandoned at the ankle as I found the short row pattern heel too ….. ugh!!! Baggy? This project is teaching me alot which I will post about when I have a pair of socks to discuss! Sock one photo included!

Responses

  1. Beautiful sock!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

