Posted by: fromonthehill | August 27, 2010

Ah….. Knitting!

All this zipping about but what about the knitting? This is a summary of my summer of knitting:
One pair of socks in Yarn Yard Bonny for himself, simple garter rib & stocking stitch foot, just the way he likes them. They are in one of Natalie’s ‘manly colours’ that were so popular at Woolfest.

One hat, own design.

Now on the second one & in process of writing up the pattern. Must be OK as it has met with the approval of son & heir, who is very picky about his headwear! I think it will be called ‘Travellers Hat’ as I worked on number one travelling around the north of Scotland & as two (and three) are for S&H who is becoming a bit of a travelling man! The one in the photo is knitted in Drops Karisma Dk. Number two is in Debbie Bliss Rialto Dk. The ‘design’ includes a different twist on a long tailed cast on & jog-less stripes! I will stick it here & on Ravelry soon but the model is in Jersey until the end of the season!

Two ‘ Les Abeilles‘ shawlettes. One for Mum & one for me! What can I say? I love this pattern! I would happily cast on another one now. Mum’s is in Dream in Color Baby, mine in humble Knit Picks Shadow (humble because of it’s price but really pleasing both to knit with & wear) both are just right for wearing ‘kerchief’ style. I love the bottom up construction and want to do another like it. I think Pine & Ivy is similar? Anne Hanson is one talented lady!

40% of Vinca. I started this when we were away. It’s not in lace weight but Aran! I have called it winter Vinca & it’s currently on hold! I think it will work. The construction is interesting but…..? Maybe there is a better project for the yarn? It’s vintage Debbie Bliss Donegal Tweed. Could be heading for the frog pond! I did promise myself a big winter shawl but I am developing doubts about this one! Sounds like I have some ripping to do? This blogging malaky is good for the soul!

I have also knitted about 10% of Fiori di Zucca Socks! Oh boy are they challenging my skills! It’s the first time I have contemplated a life line in socks but the leg is every row lace. I have had to change from 4 dpn’s to 2 circulars as the cuff pattern travelled & I kept finding extra stitches! I quite like knitting 32 stitches straight but there are alot of pointy bits & bits of wire poking about! The pattern was written by Alice Yau for Smooshy & Smooshy is what I had waiting for the ‘right’ project. It was originally designed for a Socktopus Sock Club yarn in a special colorway that doesn’t look too different from Beach Fog. The ones on Ravelry look awesome! I like to have an ‘absorbing’ knit on the needles & this is such a project. Travelling or TV knitting…. Not so much!

n.b. pattern also appropriate because of large amounts of courgettes currently growing here ‘Onthehill’!

Back to school next week! Hmm… Working might pay for the yarn but it does get in the way of the knitting!

Responses

  1. I love that hat!! 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

