Posted by: fromonthehill | March 28, 2010

Daffodils by Easter?

Somehow the blogging habit went walkabout this year. Yes I posted that we were going skiing for Christmas & No, we are not still there! I don’t really know why it happened. I was happy with the move from Blogger to WordPress. Work is manic but that’s nothing new…. Not sure, but I stopped reading blogs as much. One favorite quit the blogging scene for all sorts of reasons I perfectly understand, maybe that made me sit back. Really I am not sure but I want to get back into it. I want to be able to reflect back both short term & long term and I feel richer for the contact that ‘On the Hill’ & ‘Fromonthehill’ with folk I have never met.

So, like the daffodils this year, I am late but I am still here & I plan to write a series of posts, over the next few weeks, about some random things that fill the gap between the last days of 2009 & now.

We did indeed go skiing this winter, Les Arcs for Christmas & La Clusaz in February. Both trips were great. Christmas was a road trip. Just the three of us. It was a bit of an epic in some ways! We had snow from door to door -Harrogate to Les Arcs & got caught up in the channel tunnel closure saga! It could have been worse. We were about four hours later in Les Arc than anticipated. Temperatures dropped to -9 degrees C in Central France & the road conditions around Calais were appalling. Thank god we have a 4×4 truck! Didn’t even need its snow chains! The snow was falling thickly when we arrived in Les Arcs & we awoke to about a foot of the fresh stuff!

Son & heir enjoyed a Christmas Day treat on Telemark skis. A skill he picked up at the end of last years ‘saisonaire’s’ stint in Courcheval. In brief we had a great week. The sun COULD have shone more often but at least the snow was good which is key for an early season trip. The apartment was a real find! Slopeside & really well equipped & furnished.  The university student was back in Tignes with the Uni. ski club as week later. But that is his story! I think ‘January Snows & Winter knitting’ might be next!

Responses

  1. Glad you are all well!! Looks like you’ve done some lovely knitting!! i’m about to finish my 2nd cardigan ever (adult sized). The first one took me almost 4 months but the second one is taking me about 3 weeks!!! Maybe for Easter I’ll have it done….

  2. Thanks! I have decided i am not into knitting things with sleeves so I shan’t bother…at least not in big sizes anyway. Less than aged 2 maybe!


Leave a Reply

Categories

