Posted by: fromonthehill | October 13, 2009

Life and times…….

The mini break in the Lake District was just what we hoped it would be. A magnificent wild day on Saturday blew away the cobwebs  & we had several enjoyable ‘potters’ around Grasmere, at White Moss & in Ambleside. ‘Brian’ was then found a lovely camping site admist the trees at the Coniston Caravan Club site.

DSC_0398

In our days as family caravaners it was always a favorite & was as good as ever. We had a pre-dinner wander down to the Lake & then battened down the hatches, cooked tea, poured the wine & listened to Christopher Timothy read the stories of James Herriot whilst the wind whistled through the trees. We woke to sunshine & a much calmer day. Mr J set off on a training run up to Coniston Coppermines whilst I put my mind to finalizing the timetable for the forthcoming Year 12 Geography field course, as I was returning to the Lakes on Wednesday. On his return we ate a hearty ‘brunch’ & then walked along the lake into the village, enjoyed coffee & cakes in the warm autumn sunshine before returning to the campsite to pack up. DSC_0402We only had 36 hours or so away but it was great & we have vowed to do it at least once a month. ‘Brian’ is waiting for his next trip out in couple of weeks when we are heading north to just north of Newcastle at the end of the ‘metro line’ to SEE how son & heir is doing! We hear that he is loving student life, is getting plenty of sport -he has taken up lacrosse & is playing rugby again, along with mixed netball(!) & squash. Maybe some work is beginning to shape up?

Wednesday to Friday saw me back in the Lakes.

Year 12 fieldtrip 075

The weather was fantastic. The students brill. The roadworks on the A1 on Friday sucked! 2 hours to do a 40 minute stretch & probably responsible for my strained back from maintaining crawl control in the mini bus , which combined with a stomach bug has made me feel pretty wretched since Sunday!

Staright from the fieldcourse Mr J & I headed south to stay with my sister & BiL as the two men had an appointment to do the Birmingham Half Marathon on Sunday! Raring to go!Despite feeling green some of the time I managed to steel myself to go into Birmingham & support the boys. Despite been born & bought up about 12 miles from the center of Birmingham it is not a place I have ever got to know & I must say I was impressed with the elegance of the buildings in the city centre & intriuged by the network of canals that go into the heart of the city. The Birmingham Canal Navigation Network has more canals than Venice!The boys did well! BinL had only just recovered from the illness that kept him out of the Great North Run & the weather wasn’t brill -very heavy drizzle that soaked into shoes-  & a hillier than anticipated course, on narrower roads than the GNR, but despite this they came in just a tad over the two hour mark. DSC_0450The support team found a handy bus shelter on Broad Street as ‘base camp’ & so I was able to rest up when I felt the need!!!!! What a wimp!

Anyhow, the bug seems to be on its way. Its not swine flu & I feel well enough today to do some knitting, so its not all bad. I am knitting another pair of  ‘Embossed Leaf’ socks in Zauberball. I like this yarn & its ‘strawberries & chocolate’ colourway! I need to photograph these!

May I take this opportunity to introduce ‘Onthehill patterns’? The first one is ‘Snow Day Cowl’ & can be found on the separate page (click the tab on the blog header).

Its nothing mindblowing, but its a quick, easy & cosy cowl & I was flattered to note that someone had the requested a pattern for one of my ‘knitted on the fly’ hats last winter & so I have decided that each time I re-knit an improvised design I will write it down & publish it (& link to Ravelry of course!) I have had so many great free patterns that I felt I wanted to contribute something.

Responses

  1. Your trip to the Lakes sounds so nice! Hope you are feeling better. I just finished my second shawl: Ysolda’s “Ishbel” and I’m really pleased with it.

  2. As usual I am so envious of your Lake District trip. It’s always lovely but October has always been my favourite time.

    That part of Birmingham round the canal basin has been absolutely transformed in the last 15 years or so – I almost feel proud of how that has developed.

    Hope you’re feeling completely recovered now:)


Leave a Reply

Categories

